Business as usual! We're still open and all the recyclers featured in our comparison are continuing to operate as usual. Full Details
Our Customers Rate Us Highly!
Ever wondered where your backups go? They’re stored in your iCloud account which is a cloud service that Apple offers to users to store their data, apps and documents securely and to protect their privacy.
When you set up a new iPhone or iPad, you’re asked to create an iCloud account (or log in to your iCloud account if you already have one), which will help you restore your data from a backup. iCloud acts like a remote storage place for everything you use your iPhone for, such as pictures, videos, apps, files, music etc. Besides this, iCloud will help you to locate your iPhone if you’ve lost it.
iPhones are tied to their owners’ iCloud accounts which are password protected, and only the owner is able to access it and remove it. Therefore, when preparing your iPhone for a trade-in, selling it privately or simply passing it on to your family member, it is necessary for you to remove your iCloud account from your iPhone.
By removing your iCloud, you’ll keep your data protected and won’t give access to your iCloud to someone you don’t know. Secondly, when your device reaches one of our merchants, it can be easily tested and your order can be processed without delays. Unfortunately, our merchants often receive iCloud locked devices which reduces the value of the phone to £0 as it can not be tested and sold further on while being iCloud protected.
Before proceeding with iCloud removal from your iPhone, you need to back up your data. Make sure that your iPhone is plugged into a power source and is connected to Wi-Fi so that the backup can be carried out. To back up your iPhone, follow these steps:
If you’ve forgotten your Apple ID password, visit Apple support and follow the instructions.
Once the backup has been completed, you’re ready to remove your iCloud from your iPhone.
Now that you’ve signed out from your iCloud account on your iPhone, we recommend that you carry out a reset before selling so your iPhone can be reset to default factory settings and your data can stay safe. Here’s how you do it:
Your device will turn off and restart, which may take a few minutes. Once completed, your data will be erased. To check whether the change has been successful, turn on your iPhone and if you don’t see the Activation Lock screen, you’ve done everything correctly.
You can remove your iPhone from your iCloud account remotely by following these steps:
If you're looking for information on removing a cloud account from a Google, Samsung or Huawei device take a look at our cloud account removal guide for Android devices.